Inclusive Public Safety Advisory Committee

Charge of the Inclusive Public Safety Advisory Committee

The Inclusive Public Safety Advisory Committee’s charge is to provide guidance to Public Safety on how to enhance their practices and policies and further foster an inclusive and equitable campus community. The Committee will meet with Public Safety representatives to discuss issues of importance to the Columbia community and make recommendations that support inclusion and belonging on Columbia’s campuses. Public Safety will work in partnership with the Advisory Committee to obtain information about campus sentiment and also share relevant intended policy and practice changes to ensure that they are in alignment with the University’s stated commitments to safety and anti-racism.

Members of the Inclusive Public Safety Advisory Committee

Chair: Josef Sorett
Professor and Chair, Department of Religion; Professor, Department of African American and African Diaspora Studies

Ex-Officio: Dennis Mitchell
Executive Vice President for University Life; Senior Vice Provost for Faculty Advancement; Professor of Dental Medicine, CUMC

Ex-Officio: Donna Fenn
Associate General Counsel, Office of the General Counsel

Ex-Officio: Deidre Fuchs
Interim Vice President, Department of Public Safety

Sergio Butron 
Student, School of Engineering and Applied Science

Valeria Contreras
Student, School of the Arts, Student Affairs Committee

Jorge Farina
Executive Director, IT and Projects, Department of Public Safety

Flores Forbes
Associate Vice President, Community Affairs; Adjunct Associate Professor of Law

Sandra Bernal Garcia
Associate Dean for Student Affairs, Mailman School of Public Health

Diana Hernandez
Associate Professor of Sociomedical Sciences, Department of Sociomedical Sciences​​​, Mailman School of Public Health

Nicholas Hughes
Plaza Program Coordinator, CUMC Government and Community Affairs

Soujanya Jammalamadaka 
Student, Mailman School of Public Health

Colby King 
Student, Columbia College, Senate Diversity Commission

Arden Lee
Student, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

Karma Lowe 
Assistant Dean of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion at the Columbia School of Social Work

Courtney Manning
Student, School of International and Public Affairs 

Patrick Oakley
Director, Morningside Operations, Department of Public Safety

Matthew Patashnick
Associate Dean for Student and Family Support, Columbia College/School of Engineering and Applied Science

Radhika Patel 
Vice President for Strategy and Operations, University Life

Stephanie Pierre 
Student, School of General Studies

Will Turner
Associate Professor of Medicine at the Columbia University Medical Center; Assistant Dean for Student Affairs, Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons

Meeting Minutes

Read the most recent meeting minutes from the Inclusive Public Safety Advisory Committee here.